Salted Licorice, Norway

eyechow

Salted licorice

When I went to Norway, I knew that a local treat is salted licorice, so I picked up a few cute packs.

Confession time: I brought these cute treats home to New York, but I never tasted the licorice.

Why, you might ask? Firstly, I forgot about them in the cupboard. But more importantly, I don’t like licorice. Strangely, I do enjoy licorice tea, but I strongly dislike the tea, and I even have an aversion to fennel, which has a licorice-like flavor.

DSC_0151

When I Googled “salted licorice Norway,” I found a Serious Eats article that proves that I was probably right that I would have hated the product; here’s an excerpt:

Faced with nearly 30 kinds of candies that are popular in Norway, I reverted to my excited five-year-old self after a prolific night of trick-or-treating.

Until I ate the salty licorice**.

** Unfortunately, salty licorice gets the shaft…

View original post 37 more words

Leave a Reply

